Achievement Awards

Since 1960 The Rocky Mountaineers have had a number of members who have contributed to the betterment of the club- either through exemplary service or above average participation and activity.  Around the year 2008 a group of members decided it was time to start recognizing individuals that:

  • go above and beyond the call-of–duty (Lifetime Service Awards)
  • have a long list of accomplishments associated with club trips (Lifetime Achievement Awards)
  • complete the climbs of all the peaks in the specific ranges of western Montana

The first two Awards are mostly self-explanatory and will be presented to worthy individuals after a nomination and voting process.  The Peak List awards are presented to any currently active member who has climbed all the peaks listed below in the specific categories (areas or ranges).  The reward for accomplishing these lists are primarily the self-satisfaction of having done so; however, we believe there is a tremendous value to our membership of having individuals who have heavily engaged in the in-depth exploration of these areas!  The idea is to both honor people for their accomplishments and encourage others to visit new areas. All of these awards will be presented annually at our September “Welcome Back Party”.
Notes: we used 400’ of prominence above the nearest highest connecting ridge to determine whether something was an individual peak or just a high point on a ridge.  Peaks lists can be achieved over a number of years and you need not have been a member at the time of all of your climbs.
2023 Awardees
Stefan Kolis
, Rattlesnake Peaks
Corey Hinshaw, Rattlesnake Peaks
Elizabeth Moore, Missoula Horizon Peaks
Mark Albrecht, Missoula Horizon Peaks
Forest Dean, Missoula Horizon Peaks
Forest Dean, Mission Mountains over 8500′
2022 Awardees
Elizabeth Moore
, Rattlesnake Peaks
Corey Hinshaw, Missoula Horizon Peaks
2021 Awardees
Mike Young
, Missoula Horizon Peaks
Sarah Halvorson, Missoula Horizon Peaks
Bryan Kercher, Missoula Horizon Peaks
2019 Awardees
Alden Wright, Lifetime Service Award
Paul Jensen, Lifetime Achievement Award
Eric Jones, Missoula Horizon Peaks
Isaac Jones, Missoula Horizon Peaks
2018 Awardees
Laurel Vielle, Rattlesnake Peaks
Forest Dean, Rattlesnake Peaks
Forest Dean, Bitterroot Peaks over 9000’
2017 Awardees
Julie Kahl, Lifetime Achievement Award for service to the club
Steve Schombel, Lifetime Achievement Award for service to the club
Laurel Vielle, Missoula Horizon Peaks
John Bardsley, Missoula Horizon Peaks
John Bardsley, Rattlesnake Peaks
2014 Awardee
Alden Wright, Rattlesnake Peaks
2013 Awardees
Vick Applegate, Missoula Horizon Peaks
Alden Wright, Missoula Horizon Peaks
2012 Awardee
Julie Kahl, Missoula Horizon Peaks
2010 Awardee
Steve Niday, Rattlesnake Peaks
2009 Awardees
Steve Schombel, Missoula Horizon Peaks
Steve Niday, Bitterroot Peaks over 9000
Steve Niday, Missoula Horizon Peaks
Peak Lists

Missoula Horizon Peaks
Black Mountain 5951’
Blue Mountain 6460’
Charity Peak 6535′
Ch-paa-qn 7996’
Dean Stone 6204′
Miller Peak 7030’
Mount Jumbo 4768’
Lolo Peak 9139’
Petty Mountain 7270’
Point Six 7942’
Sheep Mountain 7646’
Stark Mountain 7349’
Stuart Peak 7971’
University Mountain 5709’
Woody Mountain 6218’
Rattlesnake Peaks
McLeod Peak 8620’
Murphy Peak 8167’
Mosquito Peak 8057’
Stuart Peak 7971’
Point Six 7942’
Triangle Peak 7800’+
Sheep Mountain 7646’
Mineral Peak 7482’
Bitterroot Peaks (9000’+)
Trapper Peak 10157’
El Capitan 9983’
The Shard 9883’
Boulder Peak 9804’
North Trapper Peak 9801’
West Trapper Peak 9772’
West Como Peak 9624’
Little Tin Cup Peak 9617’
Saint Joseph Peak 9587’
Sugarloaf Peak 9586’
Middle Como Peak 9530’
East Boulder Peak 9500’
The Tusk 9486’
East Como Peak 9485′
East Bare Peak 9459’
West Bare Peak 9440’+
Mink Pk/Illusion Spire 9363’+
Mount Jerusalem 9355’
Saint Mary Peak 9351’
Heavenly Twins (South) 9282’
Trapper Lake W Peak 9260’
Lonesome Bachelor 9185’
N. Mt. Jerusalem 9169’
Whites Mountain 9162’
Sweeney Peak 9161’
Canyon Peak 9155’
Lolo Peak 9139’
Ward Mountain 9119’
East Whites Mountain 9095’
Koch Mountain 9072’
North Canyon Peak 9042’
Little Saint Joe 9040’+
North Lost Horse N 9018’
Trapper Creek Peak 9012’
Stormy Joe 9003’
Glacier NP (9500’+)
Mt. Cleveland 10,466’
Mt. Stimson 10,142’
Kintla Peak 10,101’
Mt. Jackson 10,052’
Mt. Siyeh 10,014’
Mt. Merritt 10,004’
Kaiser Point 9996’
Kinnerly Peak 9944’
Rainbow Peak 9891’
Mt. Carter 9843’
Long Knife Peak 9784’
Going-To-The-Sun Mtn 9642’
Vulture Peak 9638’
Blackfoot Mountain 9574’
Ipasha Peak 9572’
Mt. Gould 9553’
Little Chief Mountain 9541’
Rising Wolf Mountain 9513’
Mission Mountains (8500’+) 
McDonald Peak 9820’
East St Mary’s Peak 9425’
Sheep’s Head 9417’
Glacier Peak 9407’
West St Mary’s Peak 9372’
Lowary Peak 9369’
Icefloe Peak 9328’
Sonielem Ridge 9315’
Mountaineer Peak 9261’
Mt Calowahcan 9061’
Gray Wolf Peak 9001’
Flat Top Peak 8893’
Daughter-of-the-Sun 8777’
Panoramic Peak 8660’
Peak 8650’ 8650’
Peak 8632’ 8632’
Cold Peak 8522’
Swan Range (8500’+) 
Holland Peak 9356’
Swan Peak 9289’
Ptarmigan Point 9083’
Peak 9075 9075’
Buck Peak 9003’
Peak 8905’ 8905’
Peak 8894’ 8894’
Puma Peak 8853′
Fisher Peak 8845’
Goat Mountain 8845’
Union Peak 8825’
Peak 8820’ 8820’
Peak 8820′ 8820′  (North of Holland Peak)
Wolverine Peak 8769’
Peak 8710’ 8710’
Peak 8694′ 8694′
Cooney Mountain 8709’
Peak 8709’ 8709’
Count Peak 8691’
Crescent Mountain 8617’
Cardinal Peak 8582’
Una Mountain 8580’
Carmine Peak 8542’
Leota Peak 8512’